This Discussion channel is currently closed.

Default_avatar
Nicholas Garbis over 5 years ago

YES. These are great steps forward and should be supported. Our electricity is becoming less carbon intense each year, so moving as much transportation to use electric power as possible, as soon as possible, will accelerate overall carbon reductions in MN and set a great example for other states to follow. Please support Xcel in their request to pilot innovative programs like this.

5 Reads

Bootstrap_2134614656600435
Jukka Kukkonen over 5 years ago

Yes. As an EV driver I know how much better these cars are compared to traditional internal combustion vehicle technology. They are fun to drive, cheaper to own and use, and most of all reduce air emissions and our dependency on oil that is all imported to Minnesota causing a lot of environmental hazards in the process. It is crazy that we import oil, export a lot of money to pay for it and then even burn all that oil here causing a lot of emissions. Xcel Energy’s petition accelerates the shift to electric transportation by making it easier both for individuals and fleets to make this shift. Personally I’m very excited to see that this will help us to get electric busses to Twin Cities since those will have a big impact on our everyday air emissions. I also like the public charging pilot. Most common questions that you hear from potential PEV buyers have to do with availability of public charging. This pilot program would make sure that we have proper public charging infrastructure in Twin Cities area, not just for individual car users but also for fleet customers, taxis and shared mobility providers. And this charging infrastructure doesn’t just serve people living in Twin Cities but actually provides outstate PEV owners an easy way to charge their cars when they visit Twin Cities. This will provide a solid foundation for all drivers in Minnesota and make it easier for them to shift to driving electric.

5 Reads