This Discussion channel is currently closed.

Default_avatar
Matt Wagner over 6 years ago

I am a current MN resident living in the City of Canby who owns property on Lake Cochrane. I am also the Airport Manager in the city of Canby. I fly a float plane back and forth from Canby to lake cochrane weekly, sometimes more and the proposed windmill project will endanger my life and the lives of the other residents who use the lake for float flying. These windmills that are so close to the lake do not give us pilots enough time to maneuver off the lake and set up for landing depending on the wind conditions and weather requirements for the day to day operations. Takeoff is also a major concern with having to take off into the wind and not having enough performance to out climb or maneuver away for the turbulence created by these large wind turbines. With the many documented health risks involved with these turbines and now the danger involved with flying float planes in and out of our seaplane base I feel the need to look at the distance away from the lake needs to be greater than the purposes distances currently.

1 Read

Default_avatar
Ron Ruud over 6 years ago

Lake Cochrane is located in Deuel County in South Dakota, less than a half-mile from Yellow Medicine County Minnesota. The lake is spring fed with a deepest point of 28 feet and a mean depth of 13 feet. It has a surface of 355 acres. It is located in a very pristine area with rolling hills and gulches. There are many species of wildlife in the area including deer, wild turkey, pheasant, osprey, owl and bald eagles. In the spring we see migrating loons, ducks, geese, cranes and we are also in the path of migrating Monarch butterflies. There are two eagle nests within a mile or two of the lake.